Close this search box.


The Chubu is a region of Japan located in the center of Honshu, the main island of Japan. The central location made it play an essential role in Japanese history, serving as the country’s transport and trade hub.

The region is composed of nine prefectures. These include Aichi, Fukui, Gifu, Ishikawa, Nagano, Niigata, Shizuoka, Toyama, and Yamanashi Prefectures.

It is also one of the most diverse regions in terms of climate, geography, and culture. Since a large section of the Japan Alps covers the region, it is the site of many of the country’s tallest mountains, including Mount Fuji.

Chubu offers a wide variety of attractions, from temples and shrines to hot springs and museums. There are even plenty of ski resorts if you are up for some skiing.

The prefectures that compose the region each have their own interesting things. You can spend days exploring the mountain valleys of Nagano prefecture, for example, chilling in onsen towns or hiking the mountains. Or you can hop over to the Kaga-Hakusan area and enjoy its many beauties. The options are endless.

Let's Explore Chubu

Chubu - Latest Posts

Discover Rankeisou, a traditional ryokan in Niigata's countryside, offering a unique blend of authentic Japanese hospitality, serene natural settings, and exquisite local cuisine. Experience the charm of traditional Japan with tranquil river valley views, rejuvenating hot baths, and a personal touch from the ryokan's owners.
• 7 min read