Close this search box.


Kyushu is the third largest island in Japan and is blessed with rich natural beauty, unique culture, and proud history. The name of the island is also the name of the region, which makes sense.

Kyushu has a long history of being one of the most important regions in Japan for trade and commerce with important cities like Nagasaki and Fukuoka.

The island, whose name means “nine provinces”, comprises seven different prefectures: Kumamoto, Fukuoka, Nagasaki, Saga, Oita, Miyazaki, and Kagoshima. You might ask yourself, how are there only seven prefectures then? Well, back when the island was named Kyushu, there were actually nine provinces on the island, but since then, Japan’s internal division changed, so we now have 7 prefectures.

The island is known for its beautiful mountain ranges and diverse wildlife and is a great place to visit for those who want to experience traditional Japanese culture and history. It is also home to many traditional festivals that have been celebrated for centuries.

Let's Explore Kanto

Kyushu - Latest Posts